Eluveitie

Today's post I'd like to dedicate to the swiss folk metal band Eluveitie. I don't know if I've written about them before, but here it goes anyway. The following italic text is copied from wikipedia since I'm too lazy to write it myself.


"Eluveitie (pronounced El-Vay-Tee) IPA: [ɛlˈveɪti]) is a Celtic metal band from Winterthur, Switzerland. The band formed in 2002 and their first EP, Vên came out in 2003. The band then released a full-length album, Spirit in June 2006. In November 2007, Eluveitie was signed by Nuclear Blast. The first product of the collaboration, Slania, was released in February 2008. The album peaked at number 35 in the Swiss charts and number 72 in the German charts.
Eluveitie use traditional instruments amidst guitars and loud vocals. The lyrics are often in the extinct language Gaulish. Eluveitie is Helvetic Gaulish for "I am the Helvetian", referring to an inscription dating to the earliest record of the Celtic Helvetii tribe from what is now Switzerland.

Eluveitie infuses traditional Celtic folk melodies with Gothenburg-styled melodic death metal. Eluveitie uses traditional folk instruments in their music, such as fiddles, tin whistles and flutes, and hurdy gurdies. The traditional folk tunes in their songs have been drawn from various sources, such as traditional Irish reels. While many of their lyrics are in English, some are in the ancient extinct Gaulish language. All of the lyrics on their 2009 release Evocation I - The Arcane Dominion are in Gaulish. Their lyrics are based on texts written in Gaulish such as prayers, invocations of the gods and other spirits.


The funny thing is, I started listening to this band way back before I decided to take the courses in Celtic Studies. But as I've been reading and studied further I really understood how much influence the band has taken from the celts. Really interesting! For example, as I was reading one of my books a few days ago I found a few ancient gaulish texts that were roughly translated to english. And I realized those texts are used in some Eluveitie songs on Evocation I - The Arcane Dominion ("Brictom", "A girl's oath" and "Dessumiis Luge"). Quite random, haha!

Eluveitie - Brictom

Kommentarer

Kommentera:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

Email: (publiceras inte)

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback

Katsu Jag går under pseudonymen Katsu, är 20 år gammal och kommer från Skåne men bor för närvarande i Uppsala där jag pluggar. Mina intressen involverar bland annat metal (och lite andra musikaliska genrer), fotografi, språk och spel. Detta lär dyka upp här och var i bloggen.
Det bästa sättet att känna igen mig är på min frisyr. Stort och spretigt - och svart, förstås.


bloglovin

RSS 2.0